Congressman Donald Norcross

Representing the 1st District of New Jersey
Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Norcross Announces $1.25 Million for Educators’ Innovative Research Projects at Rowan University

Mar 30, 2018
News Release

CHERRY HILL, NJ – Congressman Donald Norcross (NJ-01) today announced the National Science Foundation (NSF) has awarded Rowan University $1.25 million in federal grants for two of their professors’ research projects.

The Faculty Early Career Development program awards – known as CAREER grants – support junior faculty who are in roles as teacher and are also conducting cutting-edge research.

“These grants are a win-win-win – recognizing one of South Jersey’s premier educational institutions, promoting work of dedicated local educators and advancing innovative research,” said Congressman Donald Norcross, a member of the House Committee on Education and the Workforce. “These professors are shaping the next generation of students while they shape the next generation of scientific discovery. This is another proud, exciting moment for our area, which has established itself as a research and education hub.”

The $525,000 grant from NSF’s Division of Chemistry will support a project led by Dr. Gustavo Moura-Letts, a Professor at Rowan University’s Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

The $500,000 grant from NSF’s Division Of Chemical, Bioengineering, Environment and Transportation Systems will support a project led by Dr. Martin Haase, an Assistant Professor in Rowan University’s Department of Chemical Engineering.

“These CAREER awards are an honor for Dr. Haase, Dr. Moura-Letts and the institution, and it reflects the commitment of these educators to research that has the potential to impact various industries," said Dr. Ali Houshmand, president of Rowan University. 

The NSF is an independent federal agency that provides approximately 24% of the funding for federally-supported basic research conducted by America’s colleges and universities.


Contact: Ally Kehoe, Communications Director